To my son as I graduate…

Dear Jakob,

May 17, 2017. Today NYU’s 185th Commencement Ceremony is taking place to celebrate the achievements of many graduates including myself, but today I want to take a moment to celebrate you.

My journey to the tassel has been a long one. A journey plagued by frustration, stress, anxiety, doubt, fear, and numerous attempts at quitting. But through hard work, the prayers of those around me, and the grace of God I have made it to this day- Graduation.

And as proud of myself as I am and as much as those around me are celebrating me for this accomplishment, I think you are the true star in all of this. You have been the silent partner working behind the scenes to help me get to this point. So I thought you should know how grateful I am for you and why this achievement belongs to both of us, not just me.

Thank You.

For all the times I couldn’t tuck you in because I had class. For all the times I had to cut playtime short so I could take a test, write a paper, or finish a project. For all the times you went crying to Mimi and Grampy because you didn’t understand why I couldn’t stay just one minute longer. For all the times when I was impatient with you or short-tempered because I was so stressed and exhausted. For all the times I put a few more minutes of sleep above waking up early to spend time with you. For all the times that I was so stressed I was physically ill and you prayed for me and did everything you could to make me feel better. For the times I shared the good news of a test passed or a course aced, or a GPA above a 3.5 and you celebrated with me. For all the times I wanted to give up and your mere presence made me reconsider.

Thank You.

As cliche as it seems, you are the real MVP of all of this. Because even in the midst of all of that you managed to remain the same sweet, caring, helpful, generous and thoughtful child you’ve always been.

So thank you for bearing with me and motivating me and helping me get to this point in my life. I hope one day, when you are old enough to understand, you are just as proud of me as I am of you. This one is for us!

Love Mommy

 

 

Leave a Reply

