Reflections on the Inauguration of President Donald J. Trump

I very briefly tuned into the inauguration of President Trump on Friday, January 20, 2017. My brain had fully digested the events of the day and what that meant for our nation, but my heart and my gut were reeling.

I found myself stuck in this sort of trance of disbelief that what I was watching was actually occurring. I knew it was reality, but I was and still am struggling to accept it. I found myself at moments battling with fear and disappointment that swept over me so swiftly. I also found myself feeling anger and frustration that came on just as quickly.

And as I watched President and First Lady, well now former President and First Lady Obama take that walk to the helicopter, I found myself overcome with sadness. You know when they talk about your life flashing before you in the moments before you die? Well I guess you could liken what I experienced as I watched them take that walk to that kind of experience. Everything I loved about them, everything they’ve given and represented, it just rushed through my mind and I was overcome with emotion that it had come to an end.

Donald Trump has been in office for a weekend- one single weekend, and already I find myself exhausted by him and everyone in his immediate circle. Yet, this weekend I also witnessed the millions of people worldwide who came out in groups of hundreds of thousands to stand for what is right and against what is wrong.

In the midst of such hatred there are still so many people out there who are loving, and caring, and empathetic, and nonjudgmental, and compassionate, and tolerant, and giving, and helpful. It’s such a juxtaposition, but it is one that gives me the hope I need to keep pressing forward and joining others in the fight against oppression and suppression.

 

Leave a Reply

