Faith…as I have come to understand it

Faith to me was always defined as “the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not seen.” That’s the first way I was taught about faith in church and naturally, I came to memorize that definition and spout it out when asked about faith. However, I really never took the time to think about what that meant. As time progressed, my idea of faith simply came down to the knowledge that God was capable of moving on my behalf.

Yet, these last few months of personal trials and tribulations has altered that definition, and ultimately my understanding of what faith actually is.

Faith is not the idea that God can move on your behalf, it is the knowledge that God will move on your behalf. Can vs. Will. See the difference yet?

Belief that God can do something still leaves room for doubt. Yes, I know God is capable, but will He for me? It is kind of reminiscent of when you were in school and asked the teacher, “Can I got to the bathroom?” Then he or she would respond, “I don’t know, can you?” When you stop at the belief that God can do something, you are kind of implying that just because He can do it doesn’t mean He will…and is that really full belief in God’s ability to move for us?

Full faith is truly trusting that not only can He, but that He will for you. It is resting in His promises, even without the physical proof that things will work out. An important component of this is letting go of our own expectations as to how God should go about moving in our lives and situations. How can you fully trust Him to bring you through when you are still trying to force your way onto his?

Faith is blind, but whole-hearted belief. It is saying, “I don’t see it, I don’t get it, but I know you will in the way and timing you see fit.”

And when you have that kind of faith, it is truly freeing because you are no longer holding on to the anxiety of the hows and whens and whys…I Know God Will. That’s it. It’s not for me to worry about. It’s not for me to figure out.

If you know that He will, then you can rest in the knowledge that whatever you need is already done. Perhaps not in your timing, perhaps not according to your criteria, but in the way and time that will best benefit you in the long-term.

2 thoughts on “Faith…as I have come to understand it

  1. M says:

    Exactly! couldn’t have said it better myself. May your faith continue to bloom and grow as the Holy Spirit leads you.

Leave a Reply

