personal happiness tip #9 – Periodically reflect on your progress

I am so hard on myself.

I beat myself up for my mistakes for months (sometimes years) and then I’ll spend 2.5 seconds acknowledging an accomplishment.

I often measure myself based upon what I haven’t achieved as opposed to what I have; a practice that has often led me to be disappointed with myself and dissatisfied with my position in life.

However, the truth of the matter is that no matter how short I have fallen from my intended plan or intended goals, I have come a really long way. A REALLY LONG WAY. I am proud of the person I am becoming. I am impressed by the strength I possess. I am happy with the milestones I have met.

Ultimately, I have done a lot (by the grace of God) and it is okay to relish in the beauty of where I am and what I have achieved thus far, with the understanding that the same amount of commitment and focus can get me to where I want to be in the future.

Leave a Reply

