Battle of the Ages

Question 6: “What is your outlook on getting older? Do you enjoy it or are you dreading it?”

 

This question was a great one to ask. The answer to this is layered and complex. So let’s see where to begin with this one. First, let me say that I feel so blessed each and every year that I live. No matter what negatives getting older might bring, being alive will always be a blessing. With that being said, I can say that I see aging a bit differently than I did a few years ago. Prior to turning 21, aging was great. I felt that I was getting closer to true adulthood and that excited me. Then 21 came and went and now I am 22 feeling much less excited about getting older. I think this lack of excitement comes from the fact that I feel I am not where I want to be in terms of accomplishing my goals. When I was younger I had a very strict life plan. Certain ages were to be marked by certain achievements and I am behind on some of those achievements as of now. Granted, I am well on my way to getting where I want to be but because I haven’t gotten there at the speed I desired I feel as if aging is kind of a reminder that I am not meeting my own expectations. Once I check a few personal milestones off of my list I think my outlook will be more positive.

Leave a Reply

