Invisible Flaws

I wonder if the physical flaws I spent so much time punishing myself for and attempting to cover up were as significant to anyone else other than me? I was sometimes convinced that the people closest to me were just as consumed by my flaws as I was, and it is this belief that sometimes tainted our relationship. I got so wrapped up in trying to hide my flaws that I was unable to be my real self.

There are physical flaws that I spent time trying to cover, hide, or fix so that I could present myself in a manner that made me feel more comfortable. Like the scar on the right side of my forehead from when I feel off a bunk bed at summer camp. Or the stretch marks on my hips from when my bottom half experienced rapid growth. The fact that my left boob is a tad bit bigger than my right. Or the fact that I have these period sized moles in random spots on my body. Those imperfections (and countless others) used to bother me to the point where I catered my clothing, hairstyles, make-up, and other things specifically for the purpose of hiding those things.

Of course now I have grown so much. Those little oddities that I used to despise I have now come to embrace and love. Nobody else has this exact same scar on their head with a hilarious story about what not to do when at the top of a bunk bed. No one has the same pattern of stretch marks that I do and no one can say they got them for the exact same reason that I did. And no one has little moles in all of the same spots that I do.

Those little oddities make me unique. They make me stand out. They give me something to talk about. They are a part of who I am. And at the end of the day God made me with these features, and he knew what he was doing when he put everything into place. So who am I to complain?

Besides, I have been lucky enough to find someone who loves those things about me almost as much as I do. And even more than me in some instances. So when I have my moments of insecurity, I get snapped right back to the reality of how all of these features combine to make me the special and beautiful person I am.

Chances are that most people don’t even notice many of your physical flaws or consider them to be flaws until you point them out. So be confident. Embrace who you are and how you look. Other people will love you and find you beautiful if you believe in yourself.

One thought on “Invisible Flaws

  1. Margaret Bernard says:

    Amazing! I’ve never noticed any of those things you’ve mentioned until I read them here. However, it is wonderful that you’ve finally embraced the “whole” you. #greatpiece

Leave a Reply

