One More Chance

I have decided to stop seeing you for who you aren’t and to start seeing you for who you are.

To stop seeing you for what you weren’t and to start seeing you for what you were.

To stop seeing you as a monster and to start seeing you as a human being.

To stop holding you to standards I myself could never reach.

So you weren’t what I needed you to be when I needed you to be that.

So you weren’t where I needed you to be when I needed you to be there.

What does continuously harping on those two facts do for me in the present?

Nothing.

Resentment used to rule my life.

Why?

Because I think I was looking for an excuse for all of my bad behavior.

Someone to blame my faults on.

Someone to put all my mistakes on.

An easy out.

Fact  is, I make my own choices. My own decisions.

I chose to hold on to your mistakes so I could feel better about my own.

And now I’m choosing to forgive you for your mistakes so I can make less of my own.

God is a God of second and third and fourth and an endless amount of chances.

Who am I to deny you just one more?

Leave a Reply

