Uncertainty

It’s pitch black when I open my eyes. Not initially alarmed because it is always dark when I awaken in the middle of the night. But as my eyes begin to adjust to the darkness and things become more clear, I realize just how unclear things are. Because as objects come into focus I realize that they are all unfamiliar. I don’t know this place. And as more unfamiliar objects come into view I become uncomfortable.

I’m alone in this place. I hear sounds as if other people may be close, yet not close enough for me to see them. Sitting alone in the dark hearing these sounds I realize how cold it is in this place. When I don’t focus on it I’m fine, but when I do it is really really cold. So cold that my bones hurt.

I want to move but I’m scared. I don’t know where I’m at and I don’t know where I’m going. I’m just stuck. Here in this foreign place. Cold. Listening. Looking for something or someone familiar.

Leave a Reply

