What I fear most…

When it comes to you, one of my biggest fears is that I will lose you. Not that you will pass away in some tragic accident, but that time and aspirations and paths will separate us. That our texts will decrease in numbers, our calls will cease to exist, and visits won’t even be a part of our vocabulary. That thinking about you randomly throughout the day will transform into failing to have a single thought about you. That coming to you for advice will no longer be an option I consider. And that really terrifies me because I have become so comfortable with us that I can’t really fathom US not existing. Let’s be realistic. 50 years from now do you really think we will still be a part of each others lives? Or will we just be a distant memory? Will you be someone my kids know and love? Or will you just be a brief story that I share with them? I know what I’d like to happen, but in this life it is apparent that you can’t always get what you want. I hope time brings us closer rather than tears us apart. I hope that careers and new love interests and kids and obstacles don’t cause us to forget how wonderful this has been. How much we’ve meant to each other. I’ve waited a long time to have someone like you walk into my life, and above all else I don’t want to lose you. I’ll hold on if you will. So please promise me that you will.

Leave a Reply

