What You Want, Not What You Need

I want what is best for you
Even if that means it’s not me
I’d much rather see you happy without me
Than to see you miserable with me
I’m mature enough to know that I’m not what you need
That I don’t make you happy
That I’m not helping you grow
And years from now I don’t want you to look back and see me as the reason you were held back
Instead I want you to see me as the one who pushed you forward
The one who loved you enough to let you go
The one who cared enough to give you what you needed before you even realized that you needed it

Leave a Reply

