I Wasn’t Supposed To

How did I let this happen? I have spent so much  time forcing myself not to like you. Telling myself that you were not worth my time.  Telling myself we were better off being just friends. Yet somehow as I was telling myself all of this, you snuck in- past my hurts, through my pain and into my heart. And now I love you. It’s weird to go from resisting your like for someone , to embracing your love for them. I don’t really know what is going on here. I’m afraid to fully embrace whatever this is. Because I don’t want to be hurt again. But then I look into your eyes and I am comforted. It’s like nothing can go wrong when I am with you. And even if it does I wouldn’t care. Because you will be beside me, holding my hand through all of it. At least I trust that you will, because I trust you. And I love you enough to risk it.

Leave a Reply

