My Other Half

Everyone is always looking for their other half. That person who is going to make their life complete. My question is, why are there so many broken people walking around? I mean if it takes another person to make you feel whole, then that seems like an issue to me. Most people don’t settle down until their late 20s at the earliest. So we have a society of people who live 20 plus years feeling unfulfilled and incomplete until they find that one? Nothing about that seems right at all. Have we come to a place where we only feel we are at our best if we have someone by our side? Maybe it’s just me but I want to be at my best at all times; whether I am with someone or not. It shouldn’t take a man or a woman to define who you are. And it shouldn’t take a man or a woman to define your happiness. God forbid something happen to that man or that woman, then what? You just go back to being half complete? Or what if that relationship isn’t “the one”, then what? You just go back to being half fulfilled? That is no way to live. Feeling partially empty waiting and hoping for someone to come along and fill you up. I want to be whole by myself-100%- at my best. And when I do meet that special person, I want him to compliment me at my best, not complete me.

Leave a Reply

